The Young and the Restless News February 1, 2024


Big Shakeup: The Key Category was axed from the Daytime Emmys

Prepare to cheer on your favorite stars during the 51st annual Daytime Emmys.

It’s not too early to begin talking about this year’s 51st Daytime Emmy Awards. The 50th event was one month and an hour back, but we’re now hearing word of big changes in the soap operas being included in the kudos ceremony. The new rules mean that one less person will take home an award of gold starting this year.

The Young and the Restless News February 1, 2024
Daytime Emmy Awards.

Daytime Emmy Awards: Who isn’t going to get the Gold.

There will be five acting categories in the Daytime Emmys, but the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) has announced that it will not be able to award categories like Outstanding Younger Actor in a Daytime Drama.

“Programming changes constantly and NATAS is constantly adjusting its rules of competition to reflect these changes in the TV landscape,” said Adam Sharp the President of NATAS. “We’re excited to gather for the 51st Daytime Emmys to celebrate all nominees as well as the entertaining and educational programs they develop.”

This trend has been praised by a lot of people ever since the soap opera industry changed from eight shows around 2009 to just four soaps in 2012. “I do not believe there should be a younger-age actor or category for actresses,” Christian Le Blanc (Michael, The Young and the Restless) who is a three-time Daytime Emmy award winner who spoke to Variety in the year 2011. “If you’re really good and talented, you’ll be among the older actors] in the same way that Haley Joel Osment (The Sixth the Sixth Sense) as well as Hailee Steinfeld (True Grit) have been at the Oscars.”

The removal of the category does not mean that young performers won’t be qualified to be eligible for Daytime Emmys. NATAS states that candidates for Younger Performer categories are qualified to be entered into the lead, supporting, or Guest categories.

Who has the Gold?

The categories for younger actors have undergone numerous changes throughout the decades. In 1985, when there seemed to be increasing numbers of younger characters appearing in adult-oriented soaps’ stories, NATAS implemented the categories Outstanding Young Man and Outstanding Ingenue on the form of a Daytime drama series. The first winners were respectively Brian Bloom for playing Dusty on As the World Turns and Tracey Bregman for her role as Lauren on the Y&R.

Actresses who’ve taken home the gold in this category include Oscar winner Julianne Moore (ex-Frannie/ex-Sabrina, ATWT) in 1988, the late Anne Heche (ex-Vicky/ex-Marley, Another World) in 1991, and Hayley Erin (ex-Kiki, GH; now, Claire, Y&R) in 2019. The most famous nominees in this class include Oscar winners Melissa Leo (ex-Linda, AMC) in 1985, as well as Robin Wright (ex-Kelly, Santa Barbara) in 1987.

In 1989 in 1989, the Young Man category was renamed Outstanding Juvenile Male in a Drama Show The Ingenue category became Outstanding Female Juvenile in Drama. The changes were made again, and the categories were changed to Outstanding Young Actors in the Drama Series and Outstanding Younger Actress in the Drama Series. In the year 2020, both categories were combined into a single award that was titled Outstanding Younger Performer in a Drama. Eden McCoy (Josslyn, GH) received the award in 2023.

The actors who have won the prize includes Michael E. Knight (ex-Tad, All My Children; Now, Martin, GH) in 1987 and 1986; Jonathan Jackson (ex-Lucky, GH) in 1998 and 1999, Kevin Mambo (ex-Marcus, Guiding Light) in 1995 and 1996; Jordi Vilasuso (ex-Tony, GL) in 2003 in 2003, and Bryton James (Devon, Y&R) in 2007.

Daytime Emmys Calendar

NATAS announces its Call for Entries for the 51st Annual Daytime Emmy Awards opens today on February 1. The time frame for this year’s 51st Daytime Emmys hasn’t been announced (though there’s a buzz that the event could be held in June mid-June, like it has been in the past). The nominations will be announced on the 15th of April.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *